Who We Are

Who We Are

The South Florida Section of the PGA of America is an association of golf professionals whose mission is to promote interest, participation and enjoyment in the game of golf; establish and maintain professional standards or practice; and enhance the well-being of golf professionals.

Approximately 1,850 members and apprentices are employed at over 475 facilities in the South Florida region, currently ranking South Florida Section the second largest Section of PGA Professionals amongst all 41 PGA Sections in the United States.

Back in 1979, the growth and golf population boom in the state of Florida caused what was once known as just the Florida Section to divide geographically into two Sections, now known as the North Florida and the South Florida PGA Sections. Geographically, the South Florida PGA extends as far North as Vero Beach on the east coast, to Punta Gorda on the west coast, south through the Florida Keys, in addition to Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. The South Florida Section PGA is further divided into four distinct Chapters, including the Southern, Southeast, Southwest and Island Chapters.

A primary role of the organization is to promote participation and interest in golf on a professional and amateur level. This is accomplished through the efforts put forth by all of the club professionals, teaching professionals and touring professionals that comprise the South Florida Section PGA. In addition to conducting programs and activities for its membership, the South Florida PGA offers programs and activities for amateur golfers in the South Florida community as well.

The South Florida Section is honored to have among its former Section Champions PGA Tour Greats Bob Murphy, Bruce Fleisher, Tom Shaw and Tour Legend Julius Boros.

The Section is equally honored to have recognized the following Golf Professionals of the Year: Charles Griggs, Joe O’Rourke, Bob Komarinetz, Al Kihlstrom, Ed Rodgers, John Francis, Sandy Robertson, Chuck Johnson, Lynn Josephson, Iain Mossman, Gary Owens, Bobby Pollitt, Lou Thelk, Tim O’Neal, Mike McLellan, Gordy Powell, Laurie Hammer, Fred Harkness, Jim Kurtzeborn, Tim Miller, Bob Coman, John Nelson, Larry Gantzer, Dick Erick, Tom Hilliard, Tom Wildenhaus, Jeff Raimer, Dan Gawronski, Chris Toulson, Don Law, Karl Bublitz, Brian Peaper, Jim Butler, Warren Bottke, Mark VanDyck and Victor Tortorici.

Southeast Chapter - 842 Members: Palm Beach, Martin, Saint Lucie, Okeechobee and Indian River Counties
Southern Chapter - 279 Members: Dade, Broward and Monroe Counties
Southwest Chapter - 580 Members: Collier, Lee, Charlotte, Glades and Hendry Counties
Island Chapter- 15 Members: US Virgin Islands and Puerto Rico