Jim McLean Receives South Florida PGA Horton Smith Award

Jim McLean Receives South Florida PGA Horton Smith Award

ATLANTIS, FL – Jim McLean, PGA Teaching Professional at Jim McLean Golf School is the recipient for the 2019 South Florida PGA Horton Smith Award.

The Horton Smith Award recognizes a PGA Member who exhibits exemplary contributions toward the education of PGA Professionals.

“Education has been a huge part of my life and this award personifies learning and sharing knowledge,” said McLean. “It is a great honor to win the Horton Smith award and I’m most appreciative to the South Florida PGA. I have been fortunate to be a speaker at many PGA teaching seminars and forums, but in doing them I personally learned from the participants. One of the biggest joys of my life has been seeing so many of my assistants and teachers succeed.”

For the last two decades, McLean has been ranked the No. 4 teaching professional in the United States and is one of few teachers who have taught major winners on both the PGA Tour and LPGA Tour: Christie Kerr (2), Tom Kite (1), Lexi Thompson (1) and Keegan Bradley (1).

In addition to his extensive and impressive teaching background, McLean has developed many young teaching professionals, teaching his software swinging system to over 260 PGA Professionals who have gone on to achieve high positions within the industry.
McLean is also a featured instructor on Golf Academy Channel and Revolution Golf, has a weekly show on Sirius XM PGA Tour Radio and has written 14 books about golf techniques, breaking down golf for both professionals and all players.

As a player, McLean is a member of the Pacific Northwest Hall of Fame, winning over 50 junior and amateur events. He qualified for two U.S. Opens, finished fourth in the U.S. Amateur and was an All-American at the University of Houston.

The Horton Smith Award is one of the South Florida PGA’s annual awards. Each award recipient as well as Hall of Fame inductees will be honored at the SFPGA Annual Awards and Hall of Fame Dinner on November 12th at the Country Club at Mirasol. Click here for a list of this year’s award winners.