Each year the South Florida PGA awards thirteen deserving individuals with the following awards: Golf Professional of the Year, Teacher of the Year, Assistant of the Year, Merchandiser of the Year (Private, Public, Resort), Bill Strausbaugh, PGA Professional Development Award, Deacon Palmer Award, Youth Player Development Award, Player Development Award, Patriot Award, Salesperson of the Year, Player of the Year, and Senior Player of the Year. Individuals are nominated by their peers and honorees are chosen by a majority vote of the Awards Committee of the South Florida PGA. In addition to the annual award winners, a minimum of two individuals are inducted into the South Florida PGA Hall of Fame each year.

To view a list of last year's award winners, click here

2020 Annual Awards & Hall of Fame Dinner

Each year, the SFPGA honors its award winners at the Awards and Hall of Fame dinner but due to COVID-19, the SFPGA will instead honor each award winner at their individual facilities.

2020 Section Award Winners
Golf Professional of the Year: Victor Tortorici, PGA
Teacher of the Year: Mark Costaregni, PGA
Bill Strausbaugh Award: Tony Loyola, PGA
​PGA Professional Development Award: Lee Stroever, PGA
Player Development Award: Pam Elders, PGA
Youth Player Development Award: David Armitage, PGA
Assistant of the Year: Evan Jones, PGA
Deacon Palmer Award: Mike McLellan, PGA
Patriot Award: Allen Manguson, PGA
Merchandiser of the Year- Private: Mike Schuette, PGA (Loblolly)
Merchandiser of the Year- Public: Kenny Szuch, PGA (Orangebrook)
Merchandiser of the Year- Resort: Bob Coman, PGA (Boca Resort & CC)
Salesperson of the Year: Pete Byman (Cleveland/Srixon/XXIO/ASICS)

Player of the Year: Alan Morin, PGA
Senior Player of the Year: Alan Morin, PGA

Section National Award Recipients:
1994 - Teacher of the Year - Jim McLean, PGA
2005 - Horton Smith - Warren Bottke, PGA
2008 - Teacher of the Year - Martin Hall, PGA
2009 - Merchandiser of the Year - Resort - Nevin Phillips, PGA
2012 - Junior Golf Leader - Don Law, PGA
2019 - Patriot Award - Judy Alvarez, PGA
2019 - Merchandiser of the Year - Private - Scott Kirkwood, PGA 
2020 - PGA Professional Development - Jim McLean, PGA


The Distinguished Service Award recognizes outstanding individuals who display leadership and humanitarian qualities, in addition to integrity, sportsmanship and enthusiasm for the game of golf while helping to push forward the mission of the South Florida PGA.

Marty Price 
Brendan Cunningham

Marty Price and Brendan Cunningham are two longtime friends of the South Florida PGA who have volunteered countless hours to both Section and Junior events.